//
you're reading...
About Me, Marketing - General

For Good

When posed with the question, “What do you want to be when you grow up?”, I never responded “a marketer”.  Instead, I longed to be a noble queen, changing the world through my magnanimous gestures.  Or a concert pianist, bringing delight and joy to those hearing me perform.  I wanted to travel, read, write poetry, enjoy life.  I wanted to touch lives and bring gasps of glee with unexpected philanthropy.

Marketing, to many outside observers, seems incongruous with these goals.  However, to me, it is a harmonious melange of my pursuits and passions.  I can not only be a good (hopefully great) marketer, I can use those skills to positively impact the lives of those with whom I come in contact.

I can make an impact with businesses seeking to do good.  Arts organizations who must put “derrieres in chairs” to  stay financially viable.  Social nonprofits who must get the word out to gain advocates and financial supporters.  Even for profit businesses who have a mission and seek to change their corner of the world.

Communication, creativity, compassion and community are all important to me.

This little outpost of the internet seeks to do good through sharing what I’ve learned from this journey.  Join me!

About TheMarketingAdvocate

Creative, joyful soul passionate about marketing for good. Areas of focus include not-for-profit, arts, music, technology, women's rights, and generational marketing. I also sing, write poetry, travel, and enjoy life!

Discussion

One thought on “For Good

  1. Seeing as I work in a practice that may be one of the few that’s even more maligned than “marketing” (“let’s not PR our way out of this”), it’s great to see someone approach your discipline with an expressed goal of “doing good”.

    Our trades are like any tool or trade: they’re neither inherently good or bad: it’s all about what you choose to do with them.

    Thank you for choosing to do good and tell us how someone can expressly do good with marketing.

    I’m looking forward to reading more!

    Posted by Christopher Budd | July 8, 2011, 6:41 pm

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

